Meetings  

Click on the theme item for the meeting plan for that theme.
Click on the meeting item for references, exercises, and additional reading related to it.

  • Theme 1 : Description: How to describe sets? - 23 meetings
  • Theme 2 : Quantitative: Size of sets - 21 meetings

    • Meeting 24 : Tue, Feb 26, 01:00 pm-01:50 pm
    • Tutorial

    • Meeting 25 : Thu, Feb 28, 11:00 am-11:50 am
    • Relation between countable sets and Mathematical Induction. Finite sets: Size of finite sets. Introduction to counting.

    • Meeting 26 : Fri, Mar 01, 10:00 am-10:50 am
    • Basic principles for counting: Product rule. Sum rule. Principle of inclusion exclusion. Examples.

    • Meeting 27 : Mon, Mar 04, 08:00 am-08:50 am
    • Proof of general inclusion exclusion. Permutation and combinations. Binomial theorem. Multinomial generalization.

    • Meeting 28 : Tue, Mar 05, 01:00 pm-01:50 pm
    • Tutorial

    • Meeting 29 : Thu, Mar 07, 11:00 am-11:50 am
    • Combinatorial Identities. Double counting.

    • Meeting 30 : Fri, Mar 08, 10:00 am-10:50 am
    • Counting via bijections.

    • Meeting 31 : Mon, Mar 11, 08:00 am-08:50 am
    • Recurrence relations.

    • Meeting 32 : Tue, Mar 12, 01:00 pm-01:50 pm
    • Short Exam 2

    • Meeting 33 : Thu, Mar 14, 11:00 am-11:50 am
    • Solving linear recurrences - 1

    • Meeting 34 : Fri, Mar 15, 10:00 am-10:50 am
    • Solving linear recurrences - 2

    • Meeting 35 : Mon, Mar 18, 08:00 am-08:50 am
    • Solving Recurrences (contd). Generating functions.

    • Meeting 36 : Tue, Mar 19, 01:00 pm-01:50 pm
    • Generating Functions - 1

    • Meeting 37 : Thu, Mar 21, 11:00 am-11:50 am
    • No instructions day

    • Meeting 38 : Fri, Mar 22, 10:00 am-10:50 am
    • Tutorial

    • Meeting 39 : Mon, Mar 25, 08:00 am-08:50 am
    • Quiz 2

    • Meeting 40 : Tue, Mar 26, 01:00 pm-01:50 pm
    • Tutorial

    • (Upcoming) Meeting 41 : Thu, Mar 28, 11:00 am-11:50 am
    • Structured Sets. Relations. Reflexivity, Symmetry, Antisymmetry and Transitivity. Representing relations using graphs and matrices. Counting the number of reflexive, symmetric relations.

    • (Upcoming) Meeting 42 : Fri, Mar 29, 10:00 am-10:50 am
    • Composition of relations. R is transitive if and only if R^n is contained in R for every n. Closure of relations. Reflexive closure, Symmetric closure, Transitive closure. Graph view.

    • (Upcoming) Meeting 43 : Mon, Apr 01, 08:00 am-08:50 am
    • Applications of PHP - 1

    • (Upcoming) Meeting 44 : Tue, Apr 02, 01:00 pm-01:50 pm
    • Applications of PHP - 2

  • Theme 3 : Structure: Combinatorial and Algebraic structures on sets - 13 meetings